A Short Song of Regret…

Posted: October 19, 2013 in Home, Pete's Poetry and Song and General Scrible
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

20131019-220704.jpg

The photo is of two of my favourite things. Whilst having too much of one, I spent a fruitless hour, trying to capture the soul of them both in virtual celluloid. Eventually I gave up and wrote this short sad song/poem instead.

 

A Short Song of Regret
 
I’m in a dark place
Won’t someone turn on a light?
Crack open a door
Show me the way, to what I was, once before
 
I need a friend
To tell a joke or two
To teach me how to laugh
Now I am without you
 
I need a drink or five
To help me survive
To make me forget
To ease my regret
At all the time
I have spent
Without you
Without you
 

© 2013 by Peter Anstiss

Leave a Reply

