Disappearing Freckles…

Posted: September 27, 2014 in Pete's Poetry and Song and General Scrible
Tags: , , , , , ,

IMG_0551.JPG

Freckles

I love the summer freckles,
That flower upon your skin,
They mark the longest days,
And it makes me sad that they will fade,
When the season of lost leaves begins

My English rose,
Sun blessed, sun kissed,
I love the contrast of you,
Against the darker tones of me,
In your absence, I miss that touch,
I miss that spark, I miss that rush,

Like winter, I know I am dark,
Where you are a summer bride,
We can’t change who we are,
Those things we resist,
Are ingrained deep inside,
Like the freckles that winter hides,

© 2014 Peter Anstiss

Leave a Reply

