A Haunting Love…

Posted: October 29, 2014 in Pete's Poetry and Song and General Scrible
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

image

Haunting love

She stirs the blood
This haunting love

I let her go
And that was wrong

These scars I bare
They make me strong

But strength
Doesn’t keep you warm

Mistakes I make
They keep me awake

I am full of needs
That I don’t want

And she never knew
She saved my life

And she never knew
She did it twice

I am full of regrets
That I can’t shake

Chances
I refused to take

For my secrets
She does not care

She only remembers
I was never there

Haunted by memories
Haunted by a love we don’t share

© 2014 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. stacilys says:

    Very poignant piece. Sounds sad. Sad poetry is very strong.
    🙂

    • petescribes says:

      A little wistful sadness on a rainy day 🙂 thanks for reading

      • stacilys says:

        Ohhhhh, rainy there eh. I was born and raised in Vancouver, Canada so I can definitely empathize. Rains all the time there. Now I live in Brazil and the sun does me soooooo well.
        Thanks for reading and liking some of my stuff too.
        🙂

      • petescribes says:

        You are welcome – I am jealous of your sunshine it is very wet dreary & cold here in England, but tomorrow they are promising sunshine and frost. I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

      • stacilys says:

        Yea, sorry to say we are in our Spring. I’m loving it. Hope it is sunny tomorrow for you.
        I look forward to reading your too.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

