image

Another year passes

As December bells toll
We should glance down
At our emotional bullet holes
Marvelling at the resilience
Of our bodies
And the beauty of our souls

We survive because we must…

One of the best pieces of advice ever given to me was, ‘There is always another way, you just have to find it.’ That advice and its delivery was listened to a little late for some of my mistakes, but finding other ways is something I want to be a part of me. It keeps me chasing down dreams, bouncing back from adversity and suffering with a smile the daily grind us mere mortals have to tolerate. Setting lifestyle goals has been a part of that and when I look back at the challenges I set myself in 2014 I can do so with a sense of achievement, even if I have had dark days when it all fell apart.

So what have I achieved?

Sharing more of what I write.

I have started to keep my writing pledges. In 2014 I have bravely shared more of my words on WordPress than before and been pleasantly surprised by the reaction. My twenty four posts have received over a thousand visits from all over the world. This has vastly exceeded my expectations and given my writing a new sense of purpose. The writing community on WordPress and Twitter has proved a great place to be. People have been kind enough to let me know when my words have moved them and I hope my own thoughts have been positive for others.

I am still thin!

For those of you who don’t know me I have lost over four stone in the last three years. Just the other day I threw away the last of my big pants. One final admission to myself that I am thin and I am not getting fat again. It is a great place to be, but project chasing the arse of my seventeen year old self will be an on going endeavour. It ain’t easy, nothing worth doing ever is.

Be a runner.

My commitment has been scuppered by injury and illness twice in 2014, but I have stuck to it even though three months of enforced rest has been hard. My physio therapist told me I walk wrong, run wrong and breath wrong. Not the first time I have not been able to get anything right. I won’t give up though, instead I have joined the ministry of silly walks and crazy runs in an attempt to change my running and walking styles. The hope is that this will help complete my recovery and bullet proof me against future injury. It is hard work that has drawn a few beeping horns from passing cars on cold winter nights, but in truth I will happily draw a few laughs if it means I can start putting in the sort of mileage I want to.

So where to now?

Well it appears I still have words left in me so committing to share them is almost a given. (I might even sing a few of them if I am feeling particularly brave.) So, instead I will commit to publishing at least one of the three projects that I have on the go at the moment. Even if that means self publishing. I will continue my running, though with more care. (I think I might’ve said that before.) I will cling to my pipe dreams, live my life, love with abandon and change when I have to. If you have got this far I guess I might’ve been mildly entertaining and interesting, or you love me, or you are a sucker for punishment, whichever it is I salute you and wish you a happy and productive new year.

‘Set targets, chase dreams and overcome disappointment.’

© 2014 by Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. Congratulations on all your achievements both in the past year and losing that weight and keeping it off – well done 🙂

  2. stacilys says:

    Hahaha. What a great recap and ‘looking towards’. In the short amount of time that I’ve read your work, I have come to notice that you truly are a great writer. I enjoy your poems. And who knows, maybe one day we’ll not only read the songs, but also hear them? Hmmmmmmm? Hope so.
    Keep up the good work Pete. Your running, staying thin (my hats off to you. Wow, that’s a lot of weight. You should be very proud of yourself), and your superb writing (no, this isn’t flattery. I really mean it).
    Happy new year and all the best in 2015
    🙂

  3. I’ll cling to my dreams, too, for now! 🙂 If they don’t work out, I’ll come up with some new dreams. 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

