image

Pressure Points

Life may want to tenderise me,
But I won’t be staked out,
I will be free,

This pain is mine and mine alone,
But it won’t stop me,
I won’t be owned,

I ain’t know career opportunity,
For friends of friends,
That pretend to know me,

If you want something from me,
Then show me that secret scar,
The one you hide,

Or at least,
Reveal your contempt,
I am always undone by honesty,

Instead you hide,
Behind your spreadsheets,
And your spin,

Protect yourself,
At all costs,
Politics? Another word for sin,

© 2015 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. cindy knoke says:

    Beautifully composed!

    • petescribes says:

      Thank you Cindy. I like to wrap my anger up in a few choice words every now and then – I loved the butterfly in your last post it certainly made me yearn for the warmth of summer

  2. Sarah says:

    Oooo, I like the emotion in this, and the punch at the end. 🙂

  3. petescribes says:

    Thanks. ‘A verbal punch’ that might just inspire me some more…

  4. Lily Lau says:

    This was an excellent post, I think I’ll read it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

