image

The sun beyond the storm

Beyond those skeleton days
Beyond the slashed feelings and pumping blood
Broken hearts mend, wounds heal,
And eventually scars form and fade

(I am a man of scars)

One foot in front of the other
You can discover
Shattered bones knit
The long game players don’t quit

(I have lived through a lot of broken bones)

And the storms may rage, and trees may fall
A home that’s broken is no home at all
On the morning tide something good might just wash up
Beyond the pain the sun will always come up

(I belong to the sun and the sea, but never that broken home)

© 2015 Peter Anstiss

Just a short scatter of abstract thoughts and a photo from a long walk during a roller coaster week.

Comments
  1. ladysighs says:

    What a great picture to go with the poem. Such a feeling of hope. 🙂

    • petescribes says:

      Thank you for getting it. I have just been told I was dark and depressing and it was not what I meant at all 🙂 I really struggled to capture the moment with my iPhone – The sunlight hung on the air in dust mote rays which the camera missed completely.

      • ladysighs says:

        I did not find it depressing at all. I found it very EXpressing. 🙂
        I see those tangled and twisted branches that look so fragile. Then the sun coming through and bringing the warmth and light that is needed for new beginnings.

        Well, we each read and interpret what we see. And we have to let the reader have his way too. lol I have written things that have been interpreted in ways not expected.

        We just trimmed some old branches from leafless trees that seemed barren and broken. Within two days of rain and sunlight they were full of leaves.

      • petescribes says:

        I usually like it when people get something different from my writing, but it was my wife lol – I guess I will have to let her off 🙂

      • ladysighs says:

        LOL (or tell her to get a blog and write her own poems. no, I guess that won’t work)

      • petescribes says:

        Suck it up and have a brighter weekend is the solution I have settled on. I get wiser as I get older mostly

  2. Great poem Pete, I love those ‘skeleton days / Beyond the slashed feelings and pumping blood’

  3. Dalo 2013 says:

    “I belong to the sun and the sea…” with both the sun and sea, there always seems to be open arms waiting for you no matter where you are in the world. Great poem.

  4. stacilys says:

    Pete, you’ve outdone yourself with this one. I love it. After the storm, comes the sun. It’s an age old truth. Even gold is purified by going through the fire.
    🙂

  5. Love is the chance of hurt
    shouting soliloquies
    To the night you blurt
    down on your knees
    Wondering where its gone
    shaking the trees
    To the next morning dawn

    Oh, but love does make you feel
    awesomely

    Yes the scars are there in our hearts but I’m a firm believer that it makes us know exactly what we are looking for in the next love. Nice write Pete

    • petescribes says:

      When I first saw your comment I was caught up in the push and shove of daily life and didn’t have a chance to do much more than fill in a gold star to acknowledge that I had seen it. Thanks for taking the time to read my work and a bigger thanks for the poetic comment I loved it 🙂
      Here’s to all those beautiful scars. We would not amount to much without them.

  6. petescribes says:

    Thanks for a great comment – 😊

  7. Leyla says:

    so pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

