Still missing Dad

Father’s Day, this year,
It is a bittersweet deal for me,
Falling on the anniversary of the death of my own dad,
How ironic is that?
It has rushed in on the coattails of my son’s last day at school,
As my daughters degree results on the doormat fall,
As new jobs and responsibilities command,
A different me,
It’s all change, it’s different rules,
I will have to get used to them not always being around,
While they are finding their own feet,
Treading their own ground,
Of course, I still miss my dad,
He always found the right words and never judged me,
He wasn’t perfect,
But we had a special bond,
One I strive to achieve,
With my own daughter,
With my own son,
They make me proud,
They are the best of me,
Being a good dad,
I am always working at that,
Perhaps that is why I am sad?
That dad never saw the whole of the story
Never saw my children’s triumphs, and glories
Sad at how little they got to know their grandad,
But glad that some of me,
Echoes the best of him, the best that I can do,
Still missing you, dad,

© 2015 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. I’m sad for your loss. You sound like a great dad.

  2. I still miss my dad after 14 years, so father’s day is always a little sad for me. It certainly does sound like a time of endings and new beginnings for you, hope that the changes bring you good things.

    • petescribes says:

      That’s the plan 🙂 Sorry about your dad. I don’t think time changes the way we feel and some sadness is good. It means that the relationship had worth, but I try to balance it with the good stuff and the memories.

  3. Eyes + Words says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this.

  4. Aquileana says:

    Beautiful and touching… your poem resonated with me in many ways! All my best wishes to you. Aquileana ⭐

  5. stacilys says:

    Beautiful sentiment Pete.

  6. SonniQ says:

    I felt the same about my dad – never having the chance to get to know his grandchildren. He died at 54 – his father died at 54. When I turned 54 I became very ill and drs said I should have died. I felt my children were cheated from knowing him and he was so sad at the end because he know he was dying – and it was unnecessary. He didn’t quit drinking when the drs told him he had only one chance left and he waited until it was too late. The things we do to ourselves, not realizing the effect on others until it is too late.

    • petescribes says:

      Thanks, Sonni, for taking the time to read some of my posts. In a world that is so short of time it is easy to be flippant about such gifts. So sad that you lost your dad so early.

Leave a Reply

