image

Winter Love

If you need…

I can be your winter love
You can reach for me
Whenever you are dark
I will hold you close

When the green of summer
Turns to falling leaves
When no one understands your needs
I could help you grieve

I know everything about falling apart
It means I can put it back together
If you find you ever
Need such things

When the rain falls
We can all shine like new
I live and linger
For moments such as these

They blot out all the times
I have fallen and been left to bleed
Maybe happiness
Is not the flower of my seed

But I still live and breath
I still love and hope
I still laugh,
And joke

Though dark rivers
May roll me out to sea
I will always wash up
On the beaches of your need

If you need…

© 2015 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. I will always wash up
    On the beaches of your need
    If you need…

    So beautifully written…heart melting, actually. Great poem!

    • petescribes says:

      Thank you, that is high praise indeed. I was trying to capture an elusive combination of muted joy and bright melancholia which was a term of reference I used to describe some music I was listening to the other day.

  2. Lola says:

    “muted joy and bright melancholia” – the words are beautiful and true, as is the concept 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Poignant yet lovely. 🙂

  4. Debbie says:

    This is simply beautifully written! So much emotion you’ve captured in just a few lines!

Leave a Reply

