Christmas Kisses…

Posted: December 20, 2015 in Pete's Poetry and Song and General Scrible
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

image

Christmas Kisses

You looked good in that blue dress
It reminded me of Christmas kisses
And shared wishes
That somehow got lost for us

Your smile takes me back
Miles and years
To a time
When you washed away my fears

All those perfect moments
I keep them in my heart
You were a new kind of happiness
A new start on a healing path

I miss the tangle of your tresses
And that pillow talk smile
That fearless kindness
The light you shone on me for a while

The brightest light of any love
But I was so scared
Of the shadows that I cast
I was still chained by things I hid in the past

I had been a shadow before
For way too long
It was nothing you did wrong
My belief was so thin
That shadows just weren’t my thing

But you were…
A wisdom that came too late
A seed that took too long to germinate
A lost friend, a cruel fate

© 2015 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. Aquileana says:

    I had been a shadow before/ For way too long
    It was nothing you did wrong/ My belief was so thin
    That shadows just weren’t my thing…
    Excellent stanza and such a beautiful ethereal poem for this holidays, Pete
    Merry Christmas and all my best wishes to you. Aquileana 🎄

  2. Sarah says:

    Poignant but lovely.

Leave a Reply

