Journey on… Bright lights and bad blood

Posted: February 28, 2016 in Home, Pete's Poetry and Song and General Scrible
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

image

Journey on… Bright lights and bad blood

My tale is sad
He said my blood is bad
I longed to prove him wrong

My past was dark
But that darkness it was never mine
Wrong place, wrong time

Swimming for the light
Running those dreams down
Even when others give you doubt

Journey on
Travel wide
Reach for blue skies

© 2016 Peter Anstiss

Comments
  1. I like how it ends, full of hope and promise.

  2. petescribes says:

    Thank you, Brenda, it was based on something dark my uncle said to me when I was very young. I think he probably wanted me to carry those words home and use them to wound my Dad. Instead like most children I kept them a secret. I often write about those words and the different ways they could’ve flavoured my life. Thanks for dropping by and continuing to read my rambles.

  3. alltimeoldes says:

    The photograph fits so well with the mood of the poetry. A great array of casting off doubt and moving with self belief.

Leave a Reply

